• We have a brand new look!

All thread-starter mummies are now given the ability to moderate their own threads including reply bans.

Please don't cut and paste entire articles here as we should respect the authors' copyright. Just paste a link to the original article with a short summary.

Navigating School Obstacles vs Achievements

luciana

Top-Notch
Reaction score
There are many challenges that make up the school experience, and they can really affect how we navigate our time in class. What were some of your biggest obstacles, and how did you overcome them? Conversely, what achievements are you most proud of and how did they impact your journey? Lay it all out!

Some of the hardest obstacles I faced in school were actually behavioral - I was a very chatty student and struggled with focus and attentiveness. I'm sure many can relate!

What helped me was creating an 'anti-boredom' kit full of fidget toys and small games to keep my hands busy during classes that didn't require much interaction. For especially engaging lessons, the kit kept me from becoming a distraction to others when my patience ran thin. I also found that making friends with my teachers helped - they were more likely to engage me in discussions related to the material if they knew I was interested and enthusiastic about the subject.

My greatest achievement in school was winning a district-wide speech competition! As an introvert, public speaking didn't come naturally to me but I had such great support from my teachers and classmates that it gave me the confidence to keep pushing myself and eventually deliver an excellent performance. That win encouraged me to take on more leadership roles in school and speak up more often - it was a real turning point for my confidence, especially as a teenager!

• Haha
Reactions: mamamia and queenie